A little sunshine in the dark days

Getting to work at sunrise and leaving after dark  can be pretty dismal; it’s not surprising to hear people complain about it all the time.  Where did the 4:30 pm November sunset come from? Winter is sneaky. Memories of a long, hot summer are still fresh and the change is surreal. Our first frost crept in a about a week ago and it looks to be a chilly Thanksgiving with overnight temperatures dipping into the low 20s. Other than the whole sun disappearance thing, I have to say that I’m loving this change. Sweater weather, as I call it, has arrived at last. I always did love summer, but ours was so very dry and the heat was so incessant that the changing seasons have been a beautiful relief. And I sure love a good wooly sweater and have several that are overdue for some time out and about.

In these short days,  having bright colors in our home cheers me up immensely. Last week I finished my latest sunshine project–my second quilt (first adult-size).  It is just about as bright and sunny as you can get. It’s not perfect, but I think it will hold together and I am delighted to have its bright colors great meet morning and night. It doesn’t particularly help me leave hibernation-mode on cold mornings, but it does brighten my day and welcomes me back in at night for dreams of sunnier climes.

IMG_1626[1]

This last calendula flower has helped too.

IMG_1621[1]

I love that we could have one last cut flower at the end of November, though I think it’ll be the last for the year. And as it fades so do the last vestiges of summer. But the holiday season brings its own warmth. Now I look forward to other things that will brighten our days. Candles, warm fires, food, more food, family, and friends. It’s hard to stay too gloomy this time of year.

I hope this Thanksgiving week finds all of you happy, warm, full of delicious food, and in good company.

 

4 thoughts on “A little sunshine in the dark days

  1. Love reading about your adventures as you go through life. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving with M and the family. Your quilt looks beautiful! I’m a quilter too so I appreciate all your hard work and look forward to seeing pics of your future quilts. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I really love the process of thinking of designs and piecing colors and patterns together. And we did have a lovely Thanksgiving with magnificent food. I hope you and yours had an amazing Thanksgiving too 🙂

      Like

  2. I love how positive you are! Your posts are full of optimism. I enjoy the summer months here in the UK, but everyone including us moans about the winter! How you look forward to those seasonal things to come is great!!💚💛❤️💜💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Roz ❤ I do try to appreciate the seasons, but I'll admit it gets hard sometimes after three weeks straight of precipitation that fluctuates between a drizzle and a downpour with the sun never deigning to peak out once…spring is on the way now though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

