Oh, Punxsutawney.

IMG_0781[1]

I snorted and chortled (snortled?) a little this morning when I read good ol’ Punxsutawney Phil’s prediction. Six more weeks of winter? Are you sure, Mr. Punxsutawney? My skepticism for Mr. Phil’s prediction came from both the fact that I have yet to see a flake of snow this winter and the fact that I saw the first orange crocuses opening up two days ago, still in the month of January(!). I further doubted Punxsutawney when I looked out this morning to see the summer parsley still going strong and the numerous soon-to-be daffodils and hyacinths pushing through the warm, damp earth in our backyard.

Six more weeks of winter? Well, if this is winter, then I suppose that makes sense, given that it’s hard to tell if winter ever truly showed her face at all this year. So as the East prepares to actually be rocked by six more possible weeks of snowy freezing storm after winter storm, we prepare for, oh the hardship!, six more weeks of 50 degree damp days interspersed with sun. Winter, spring–whatever we are experiencing right now–is full of new life, beauty and excitement. The squirrels are chattering, the geese are honking and the compost is cooking. All the signs are here for a change in season and what can you do, but welcome it with open arms? That’s what we intend to do here at Quiet Owl Farm.

Happy Groundhog Day!

2 thoughts on “Oh, Punxsutawney.

  1. oh if only that were true here… although our local famous groundhog… French Creek Freddy says different for West Virginia. We are just cold here with flurries but I am wishing I could see a crocus poking through here. The temp today is 20 so it will be at least a month before I see much here… enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

