And then there’s work (and a belated thank you).

I don’t travel for work all the time. Overnighters happen maybe once a month and sometimes I’m gone for a few days at a time, but either way my schedule can be uncertain. As you may guess,  overnight travel and a working farm are not highly compatible. I am well aware.  Luckily, Quiet Owl is just a glimmer of a farm at the moment and I have a partner who is willing to take care of the bunnies while I’m gone. For now, I’m just grateful to have that.

I won’t go into detail about my job today, but I will say that sometimes the travel is not great and sometimes it’s not too shabby. This is one of the not too shabby trips. I am currently the sole resident of a historic hotel in the Washington Cascades. My room is tiny, but it has all I need. A herd of elk are grazing out my window including a cute fuzzy baby that is hard to see in the terrible picture. A hand-stitched quilt covers my bed and there’s hot water and toasty chocolate in the cozy living room downstairs. The bathrooms are shared, but as I’m the only one here, I get two to myself.

??????????     ??????????But I digress. My thoughts are many this evening and I realize I have not  been in touch since Thanksgiving. So I would like to take this opportunity to send a belated thank you to the world for all the supportive partners and friends out there. Without those folks,  I would not even be able to think about starting to pursue my dreams let alone get the first bunnies of the farm herd. I know I’m not the only one. So thank you, good people! Thank you.

And as a side note. I was hoping to get new bunny housing set up last weekend, but something came up and time ran short. THIS weekend it is. And now that it is in writing, it will be done!

One thought on “And then there’s work (and a belated thank you).

  1. Indeed, life gets busy and there will always be something else to do. That you are taking the time to notice and be grateful for what surrounds you is no small thing. Recognizing bliss in everyday occurrences is critical for a full and happy life. A funky cabin that has what you need, a beautiful, natural setting, a supportive partner taking care of the farm…life is good, and I can hear it in your words. So much to be thankful for and I for one am grateful for the sharing of your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

