Country Folk & Local Feed

There is something about chatting with good old salt of the earth country folk that makes small talk bearable and sometimes even downright enjoyable. First off, if you run into country folk, there’s a good chance you might also run into a friendly barn kitty, rambunctious pygmy goat, senile cow dog, spitting guard llama, angry pack mule or any manner of furry four-legged friends. But more importantly, a conversation can be had with someone who may or may not share the same politics,  beliefs, or background and it does not matter. Those topics are for another time and place. They tend not to come up when the conversation revolves around more immediate concerns of harvest and animal health.

I had one such encounter recently. Wednesday after leaving the office, I drove out to a local feed company. Being late November, it was, of course, pitch black by 5:00 pm. I drove west towards the Coast Mountains and  squinted at the black country highway trying to find the right turnoff. Five minutes, some brief backtracking and one pot-holed gravel road later, my car sat sandwiched between a modest house and a large storage barn. I got out and pet the sweet old cat crowing  for my attention on the porch railing. As I was doing so, an elderly woman came to the front door and told me that someone would be out to help in ten minutes or so. I could tell she would have thought it rude to leave me waiting in the cold. So instead she stood there with me, giving me the historical run down of not only the sweet furry pal I’d just found, but of the numerous dogs and cats her family had rescued from certain demise over what I surmised to be decades. The few cats I saw were certainly all healthy and friendly. You can tell a lot about caretakers from their animals, so I figured I was in good hands.

The place I had managed to find off the dark gravel road is Buxton Feed Company. In my quest to find rabbit food sold either in bulk, or in any quantity greater than the pitifully small bags available in traditional stores, I had found Buxton Feed online. The company produces animal feed which is fresh, local and GMO free–which I count as a double bonus. The rabbit feed is sold in affordable 40 lb bags. After my pleasant encouter I could rest easy on my way home knowing that the 80 lbs  of good feed in my back seat would keep me from having to make an emergency bunny food run any time soon. I feel so lucky to have found this locally available GMO-free feed right at the beginning of the bunny experiment.

buxtonfeed.com
Leave a Reply

